Championship

Most every Friday night for the past seven years I have played in a men’s basketball league. The competition is not the most talented but it has always been a very competitive atmosphere.

As my wife and I are expecting, I told the commissioner this would be my final season. I drove up here to Des Plaines going past the normal sights, Rosemont, Rivers, the retirement community, O’Hare.

As I pull up I begin feeling nostalgic as today is the final game I’ll play in DPBL, the final game and the championship.

I was privelaged to manage the champion team for eight of the twenty two seasons I played, and was a part of another four as a player.

Tonight is my final game, and I am going to do what I ask of all my athletes, leave no regrets or doubts on the floor. Win or lose, it’s going to be one for the ages.

Leave a comment