Morning People

I have never considered myself a morning person. Morning runs have always been a struggle. Before I drank coffee, mornings altogether were a struggle.

But morning people sure can be contagious. We have several teachers and administrators in our building who certainly fall into this category (or at least fake it well.)

Nothing is better to start the workday  than an energetic “Good morning, Mr. Nolan!” It really sets the tone for whatever is going to come my way.

I try to copy this enthusiasm as much as possible, especially with the students. Seeing teachers successfully welcome students with enthusiastic greetings and smiles-I can only imagine how it makes them feel.

11 comments

  1. bridgebuilder18blog · March 18

    I am a morning person in the summer when I get up early for a walk before it gets too hot.
    During the school year…I am a night owl…I do my school work after everyone goes to bed…it’s my quiet thinking space. I agree that it is exhilarating to be greeted by the morning people who are bright-eyed and bushy tailed!

    Like

  2. legerboc · March 18

    Yes, this is so true! Greeting our students with enthusiasm definitely sets the tone for the day…especially when some of my own students start the day under difficult circumstances! Thank you for this great reminder!

    Like

  3. Ms Victor Reads · March 19

    I AM a morning person, but although I wake early it does not mean I get out of bed readily. A warm morning greeting at school does set the tone for a great day though.

    Like

  4. cjhamilton9 · March 19

    I am truly a morning person. Each morning I awake with a Good morning! to my family. I will continue with my Good morning, Mr. Nolan! I know how much you look forward to my greetings.

    Like

  5. sallydonnelly11 · March 19

    I’m a morning person but a quiet one. I tend to awake early to have some peace and alone time. This slice is making me wonder about how I greet my students. I’m going to be thinking about it tomorrow and trying to greet them enthusiastically (real or fake!)

    Like

  6. romeolitcoach · March 19

    I know how an upbeat greeting can lift my spirits and get me out of that early morning funk. That welcoming phrase can start any class off on a positive note.

    Like

  7. Melanie Meehan · March 19

    I am a morning person, but I live with people who are not. Your line about the coffee made me laugh. For me, runs are a struggle.

    Like

  8. kindergardencanvas · March 19

    Students do appreciate being greeted enthusiastically. It gives an extra bounce to the day.

    https://wordsmithing2017.wordpress.com

    Like

  9. Kim K · March 19

    The morning struggle is true. Fake it till you make it is something your post makes me think of. I think of my Dunkin Donuts lady who embodies morning joy like no other and how she makes me smile too.

    Like

  10. macrush53 · March 19

    I am a morning person. I understand that many are not. I try to be supportive of those who aren’t morning people. I am guilty of texting them too early.

    Like

  11. Darin Johnston · March 19

    I’m right there with as I’m not a huge morning person. However, that greeting in the hallway, as they come in class, that authentic Mr. Johnston, and the kids realize it. That smile you give (and get back) are what great days are made of for both students and teachers! 🙂

    Thank you for your slice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

