Running in the Rain

Some of the best runs in my life occurred during weather like this.

I can recall running through the forests by Swallow Cliff, or the streets by North Central, or the Yankee Woods in Oak Forest, with 20-30 mile an hour wind gusts and torrential downpours.

Many people would consider runners crazy for going out in this weather, but as long as it isn’t super cold, this is my favorite weather to run in.

Maybe it is an extra sense of achievement to finish a run in this chaos, or maybe it is the refreshing feeling of finishing a workout with a wind-at-your-back blowout, but something about these runs is deeply satisfying.

4 comments

  1. Veronica · March 6

    Wow, I want that. I mean, why not? What on earth keeps us from doing what we’ve loved to do since we were kids?

    Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

    Like

  2. pittswitts · March 6

    I absolutely love running in the rain! I also love running in very cold weather. Something about the way my skin feels during and after, a voltage running through it. Keep running!

    Like

  3. helamin · March 6

    I don’t think I will ever understand that feeling Collin. I laughed when I read your 2nd paragraph because that’s exactly what I was thinking as I read about the awful conditions that you’ve not only run in, but enjoyed!

    Like

  4. Katie Diez · March 7

    That’s a passion for running…although I don’t think the rain would bother me (that’s if I ever went running)

    Like

Leave a Reply

