Back

Small victories.

Last year, I set out to simply take part in the SoL challenge.  I hoped to make it the whole month.  I was deterred by a few things, comments mainly, which seemed to simply be a means of praising the work of our fellow writers.  Additionally, failure to figure out the time zone difference in the settings, which caused a post to be late, again decreasing my determination level to carry on with the challenge.

But hey, what do we teach our students now?  Failure Leads to Success.  I failed.  That is all there is to it.  I took my eyes off the goal, failed to commit to completing the challenge.  I let “simple” comments and a semantics issue (why is the time zone six hours ahead anyways?) bring me down.

Not this year.

I’m owning my shortcomings, committing to the challenge, and correcting the semantically challenged side of my brain.

Let’s do this.

I also would like to challenge those who may comment to critique.  Let’s make each other stronger writers.  Let’s (try to) avoid surface level complimenting and really get into the heart of these posts.  It is on us to choose to take the easy route and hit the “like” button, or reexamine our thinking and provide meaningful feedback and considerable insight to our peers’ works.

7 comments

  1. erinjohnson7 · March 1, 2016

    Woohoo! So excited you’re joining again and have made it a goal to complete it! You can do it! Can’t wait to read your posts and I love the challenge that you set about commenting. Every year I try to do the same, making my comments more meaningful.

    Like

  2. hela124 · March 1, 2016

    Yes! Meaningful feedback! I hope to rise to this challenge. Glad you’re slicing, Colin!

    Like

  3. Dana Murphy · March 1, 2016

    Glad to see you are back – a perfect model of not giving up.

    I’m confused about the time zone though. The Two Writing Teachers is set in the Eastern time zone, which is one hour past ours. So if you post by 11:00 pm Central Time, you’re good. 🙂

    Comments are tricky in this community because our first and foremost goal is to be supportive – to nurture everyone’s writing habit, regardless of their talent as a writer. Because everyone can be a writer.

    Can’t wait to read your stories this month.

    Like

  4. amelia1973 · March 1, 2016

    I am glad your back! I am so ready for the challenge, side by side with you!

    Like

  5. Robyn Bindrich · March 1, 2016

    I failed last year as well… but I am not a failure! Like you, I plan to do better this year. The important thing is discovering/understanding/learning from failures, right? In my writing community, when we share, we ask for specific feedback: bless, press, or address. I believe all three types make me a better writer.

    Like

  6. cjhamilton9 · March 1, 2016

    Feedback is something I am working on this school year. Meaningful feedback is very important. Thanks for setting the stage for feedback. Welcome Back! Hopefully you will complete the challenge.

    Like

  7. ccahill2013 · March 1, 2016

    Feedback. You bring up some interesting points. At the risk of making this more complicated than you intended, I will watch and learn where you are coming from to better understand. Glad you are back with us – you bring a great perspective to our writing community!

    Like

Leave a Reply

