Scents

I was blessed to have a childhood full of memories growing up.  It is always great to come across a scent that brings me back to childhood.  There are two main ones which stick out for me, St. Benedict’s Fish Fry and the smell of a rubber track.

Being as today was a Friday during Lent, I was fortunate enough to experience the prior of those today.  Walking down the stairs to the basement cafeteria, which has changed little over the past twenty-nine years.  It brought back the memories, my grandparents, the Franciscans who doubled as balloon-animal-creators, 50-50 raffles, and of course the food!  Anytime I get the chance to go back there really starts the weekend off on the right note.

I am certain the latter of the two scents will be a topic of a slice later this month as we near the best season of the year, track season.

7 comments

  1. carolmcbroom · March 7, 2015

    Your entry evoked childhood memories from my Catholic upbringing. Made me smile..

    Like

  2. Kim K · March 7, 2015

    Moments like that are like stepping back in time for sure.

    Like

  3. erinjohnson7 · March 7, 2015

    I love when I come across a good scent that brings me back to my childhood. Most of the time they are disney scents but hey I know what you mean!

    Like

  4. jess2e28 · March 8, 2015

    Your Slice just reminded me of all the scents that pull me back to my childhood. I’m glad your weekend started with a great scent!

    Like

  5. onathought · March 9, 2015

    I was just talking to a friend yesterday about how memories can come in a flash — a scent, a sound, a feeling… We were talking specifically of the feeling of certain barbie shoes. . . Your slice is so true – so great to be pulled back to a memory of childhood. 🙂

    Like

  6. Dana Murphy · March 10, 2015

    I love when that happens to me. I wish I could think of a specific scent that brings me back…. I can’t, but I’ll be on the lookout (or the smellout) now!

    Like

  7. bbutler627 · March 21, 2015

    I love how scent is the strongest sense attached to memory. A smell is like a time machine that way. So great. I can smell a dozen memories right now. Great inspiration. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

