New Glasses

A student came to me today.  I knew something was different about them, but I could not for the life of me pinpoint what it was.  It was not a student which I regularly would see in my office, but one I regularly would recognize.  I could not quite put it together, until much later in the day.  New glasses.

At grad school tonight, we talked about seeing things from a different perspective.  We discussed the difference a proverbial “new pair of glasses” could make.  It rang clear both in a literal sense from earlier, and a figurative sense from our in class discussions.  New glasses.

Looking back, I think more about the student and the discussion from grad school.  If that student had readily worn new glasses, why can it be so challenging for us as adults to put on new glasses with others?  We are quick to get stuck in our ways, in our mold, but once we see things differently, more clearly, problems seem to become easier to deal with.

I know tomorrow I will see that student.  I will compliment them on their new glasses, and thank them.  They may be confused, but their confusion will be minor to the clarity it served to produce.

6 comments

  1. Katie Diez · March 4, 2015

    New glasses….looking at things through a different lens…inspiring and thought provoking…great slice!

    Like

  2. peteacher1 · March 4, 2015

    I like the figurative and literal ways you explored “new glasses.” It was fun to see your reflection develop.
    Good point and great slice!

    Like

  3. jess2e28 · March 4, 2015

    Well…I know you were apprehensive at first about sharing your writing, but you shouldn’t be! That Slice was amazing! A great lesson for children and adults alike! And it was all inspired by a student who was excited about new glasses.

    Like

  4. brighidk28 · March 4, 2015

    Are you kidding me? The kid’s going to love that you’re taking the time to compliment, regardless if it’s a day (or a week) later. The, “thank you,” may throw them off a bit, yeah, but most likely will roll right over the head. So very true regarding perspective and looking at situations, people, ideas through a new lens. A necessity. That’s what education is all about, right? Igniting innovative, diplomatic, critical thinkers. Great post. And nice to see you here!

    Like

  5. ccahill2013 · March 4, 2015

    Great analogy. Thanking that student is amazing. We should thank each other more often.

    Like

  6. shellybellyjanski · March 4, 2015

    How did the conversation go?

    Like

Leave a Reply

