Glimpse

Second time around, hopefully will be smoother than the first!

Today as I took Bullseye out for his morning walk, I was greeted by that glimpse of sunlight.  It’s this sunlight in the early morning hours that begins to melt the snow, that gives hope that baseball is around the corner.  It’s this initial glimpse of sunlight that brings me back to the “glory” days of cross country at Sandburg and North Central.  Morning runs became that much easier to get up for when they were in the light.

I’m hoping this glimpse of sunlight can help remind educators that spring is near.  Clouds have a ridiculous effect on people, and sun the same.  It’s coming, please see it, please let your students see it, and know your attitudes are contagious.  As we inch towards spring, take small victories in each day.  Let your glimpse of morning sunlight make your morning runs easier, wherever the destination may be.

14 comments

  1. ccahill2013 · March 2, 2015

    What a wise connection you’ve made here. What a Writer you are. Your understanding of yourself and of the students you serve comes through loud and clear. So glad you are here.

    Like

  2. kmurphy1027 · March 2, 2015

    Today’s weather truly was a glimpse into spring. It really is on its way!

    Like

  3. shellybellyjanski · March 2, 2015

    Bring the sunshine!

    Like

  4. jess2e28 · March 2, 2015

    I really liked how you tied the ‘glimpse of sun’ together with our attitudes. I definitely notice a little more pep in my step when the sun is shining, no matter how cold it is outside. I’ll have to remind myself and my students that spring is creeping up on us slowly. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  5. Michelle Engle · March 2, 2015

    I am with you on this one! I took Lily out of the car today to go into the doctor’s office and on the short walk in she began babbling, smiling, and pointing to everything she saw. I told her that yes, I agree, the sun is out! Isn’t it great?! Definitely an attitude changer!

    Like

  6. barbarasut · March 3, 2015

    A glimpse of the sun is all I need to get my motor going in the am. Its appearance can mean the difference between a productive, pleasant day for me, or a gloomy, passive day if clouds prevail. Thanks for capturing this slice of life that we all experience (or not) every day!
    https://wordpress.com/posts/drafts/barbarasut.wordpress.com

    Like

  7. cthompson · March 3, 2015

    I “felt” the sun with you through your words. “Take small victories in each day”…..inspirational!

    Like

  8. Rachael Jones · March 3, 2015

    Yes Colin! I wrote about the sunshine today too! It’s is a fantastic reminder of spring!

    Like

  9. erinjohnson7 · March 3, 2015

    I love when that “seasonal depression” starts to fade away!

    Like

  10. mish525 · March 3, 2015

    YES! Thank you for showing the light!

    Like

  11. Katie Diez · March 3, 2015

    The ending of your piece really struck me…I will be keeping those glimpses in my mind, especially when the destination seems so dark and daunting.

    Like

  12. Dana Murphy · March 3, 2015

    Well, that was motivational! I was just thinking earlier today that S.A.D. is a real thing. I needed the sunlight so badly, and now because of your Slice, I’ll be sure to put a smile on my face tomorrow when I return to work. A smile inspired by the sun. 🙂

    Like

  13. hela124 · March 3, 2015

    Love these two lines: “It’s coming, please see it, please let your students see it, and know your attitudes are contagious. As we inch towards spring, take small victories in each day.” Such a great reminder to be positive and to smile. Smiles are definitely contagious!

    Like

  14. cjhamilton9 · March 3, 2015

    The sun always puts a person in a positive as well as a smile. Let the sunlight in. It is coming. I welcome it. Smile!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

